Alabama Plague Part Deux

Hello All.

Today I opened our windows and it was amazing. I am currently recuperating from what I have fondly named the Alabama plague part deux. Which has been an excellent round two of fevers, swollen lymph nodes and all around lazing in bed all day. I decided to go to the doctors in a mission to kill all germs hoarding in my body. Man did I succeed! The lovely nurse practitioner gave me two shots of antibiotics and steroids in my hip and sent me packing with three prescriptions. Now two days later I feel amazing! My energy is back up and all symptoms of the plague are gone. YAY!

A few weeks ago team A & M (andy & mauri) started training for the Magic City half Marathon this November. Man has it been a struggle. The heat and humidity down here is terrible for training. I have been lucky to hobble my way through three miles lately. Today the weather has seemed to break and I am hoping for some easier runs in the future.

The one positive note on running is that with very generous gifts from my family for my birthday I have purchased a GPS watch! I have only been able to use it once because of the plague but I absolutely love it. After a lot of research I ended up going with the Tomtom multisport. It’s great for triathletes on a budget and can measure distance and heart rate for all three sports. I am really hoping to up my game this year with some heart rate training.

Side life update I have started a second job at Pier 1 on top of babysitting. Still looking for my next career move but in the mean time this will help our income tremendously! Now that we have money coming in I should be able to start my long list of projects around the apartment. Super excited!

I am going to do a lovely post on Paleo in the near future but to hold you over till then here is my favorite recipe so far!
Apple Streusel Egg Muffins!
This recipe is courtesy of Diane Sanfilippo from her book practical Paleo. The recipe is super easy and delicious and her website is filled with great paleo advice!

-M

Leave a comment